Avocado Deviled Eggs + How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven

Yup, another “green” recipe! (I promise to switch it up next week).

To state the obvious, Easter is tomorrow. I always liked Easter for 2 reasons:

1)The annual money-filled egg hunt (I found the $15 egg one year!)

2)Hard boiled eggs!

I never liked the Easter Bunny though. Maybe it was his glazed over eyes, but the thought of an over-sized rabbit hopping around my house kinda creeped me out. Somehow though, I was completely content with a fat man coming down my chimney and eating my cookies while smoking the cigar my dad left out for “him.”

Oh, and I never liked the dresses I had to wear. They were always itchy and I felt like a stiff china doll. Thank goodness those days are over…

Anyway, back to hard boiled eggs. Easter was the only time I had hard-boiled eggs as everyone was too lazy to make them any other time of year. Even now, I rarely eat them. I’m not going to lie, I loved the egg white, but I was not a big fan of the dry yolk- too much coughing.

Deviled eggs though? I like. Avocado eggs? I love! And I’ve been egg-perimenting (har har) with cooking eggs in the oven. I’m proud to say I’ve perfected it! Happy Easter!

Image

Avocado Deviled Eggs + How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven  

 Ingredients: 

8 organic eggs

1 avocado

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/4 tsp dried mustard

1/4 tsp paprika

1/4 parsley

salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

To “Hard Boil” Eggs: Place a silicone mat directly on the middle oven rack. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Carefully lay eggs the mat and between the bars to ensure that they do not roll around.*See below for picture*(Likewise, you can place a cooling rack in a baking pan, place a silicone mat over cooling rack, and then place the whole thing in the preheated oven.)  Bake for 25 minutes. With a oven mitten, remove eggs one by one and carefully place on top of a pot holder or towel. Let cool for 3 minutes. Carefully transfer into ice water for 10 minutes.

Avocado Deviled Eggs: Peel off egg shells and cut eggs in half. Remove egg yolks. In a food processor, combine yolks, avocado, lemon juice, mustard, paprika, parsley, and salt and pepper together. Transfer to a ziplock bag, snip one of the corners, and squeeze into the egg white “cups.” Top deviled eggs with more paprika and parsley. Chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Image

37 responses to this post.

  1. Yummy with interesting color. I never thought of mixing my two fav together avocado and egg! Thanks… Only thing I would do differently is to boil the eggs instead of bake them. It’s take less time (9-10 mins max) and I can stir constantly in the first seven minute (dropping cold egg in cold water) so the yolks would sit perfectly in the middle and won’t give me the lopsided, hard to peel eggs.

    Reply

    • Thanks! I love trying avocado out in everything. I boil or steam eggs most of the time- I just like conducting mini science experiments 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by One Fit Mama on March 30, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    I bake them as well but I use muffin tins to make sure they do not roll.

    Reply

    • I’ve heard of that! I was afraid to try it though because I heard it burns part of the egg. But I guess it just depends on the oven, maybe?

      Reply

      • Posted by One Fit Mama on April 2, 2013 at 6:38 pm

        No idea. Haven’t had a problem with it – think its the low temperature

  3. Ugh, the itchy dresses! I never thought about adding avocado to eggs, I need this in my belly right now!

    Reply

    • Yes! And mine were always paired with a hat or bonnet! The eggs and avocado work really well together- hope you like it 🙂

      Reply

  4. Looks so good ! I have an avocado egg salad recipe but this would be a nice variation from it! Can’t wait to try it out 🙂

    Reply

  5. […] make use of my dyed Easter eggs! I’m in love with this recipe! SO good! I found this recipe here and I’m sold! This is my new favorite take on deviled eggs! The avocado was brilliant AND a […]

    Reply

  6. I made these today, AMAZING! So good! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • Glad you liked them!!! Thanks for linking back and letting me know 🙂 Loved your idea of adding an onion- I’m so doing that next time!

      Reply

  7. Thank you for this recipe. I can’t wait to try it. I love eggs and avocado but am never to sure what to do with avocado so I’m so happy to have something to try. 🙂

    Reply

    • No problem!!! Hope you like it 🙂 I use avocados in everything- including desserts! I find that it can be used in place of mayo, butter, and even cream sometimes

      Reply

  8. Looks so delicious!!! I’m definitely gonna have to mix some avocado in my deviled eggs next time. Great idea!
    -JulieC

    Reply

  9. […] accordion_tab(i) { var n; for(n = 1; n the easiest method for cooking eggs… ever!Avocado Deviled Eggs + How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven.broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; […]

    Reply

  10. WOW..never knew you could do that in the oven! Cool. Thanks for dropping by my blog..hope to see you there again 🙂

    Reply

  11. Love the idea of adding avocado to the egg mixture. Simple yet so smart! Is there an advantage to baking eggs rather than boiling or is it your hidden scientific personality just wanting to come out and play?

    Reply

    • Thanks!!! I know with vegetables, boiling reduces its nutrients. I’m not sure if it’s the same with eggs though. Really, I just was just channeling my inner mad scientist 🙂

      Reply

  12. I absolutely love deviled eggs and avocado! How did I never think to combine them?

    Reply

    • They taste great combined! Lately, I’ve been pairing everything with avocado. So far, so good 🙂

      Reply

      • Everything goes with avocado!

      • My daughter and I made a chocolate and avocado themed dinner once: chicken with spicy chocolate sauce, macaroni and cheese with avocado, and avocado brownies. Mmmm.

      • Avocado brownies are so good and I’ve been meaning to try avocado mac n cheese! But as for the spicy chocolate sauce, I’ve never thought of pairing anything like that with chicken! That’s sounds amazingly good, yet so dangerous for me (as a chocoholic 🙂 )

  13. Lovely recipe…..Sounds delicious

    Reply

  14. Had no idea you could hard boil in the oven! I’ll have to give it a try!

    Reply

  15. YUM!!! These look amazing! I’ve got to try them!

    Reply

  16. I love the idea of hard boiling eggs in the oven- I have a tendency to forget about them on the stove! Thanks for linking up today.
    Xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

    Reply

  17. Anything with avocado is a win in my book! Yummmm

    BreAnna | Crafty Coin
    Real Food on a Real Budget

    Reply

Leave a comment