Peanut Butter Chocolate Eggs

I know, not a totally original post, but tomorrow is Easter and Easter calls for peanut butter chocolate eggs!

I used to LOVE Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs when I was little. And I swear, they did something to the usual Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup recipe to make the Easter egg version more addicting (probably added more sugar…)

Anyway, the last time I tried to relive my childhood and eat one, I found that it was waaayyyy too sugary for me and I actually felt nauseous soon afterwards.

So, I now make my own! And who knew it would be so easy?! And I can feel good about eating these (both mentally and physically) because they don’t contain chemicals x, y, and z.

Happy Easter! 

Peanut Butter Chocolate Eggs

Peanut Butter Chocolate Eggs

Ingredients:

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp salt

3 tbsp vanilla protein powder

2 tbsp coconut flour

1/4 cup dark chocolate chip

1 tbsp coconut oil

Directions:

In a bowl, combine peanut butter, vanilla extract, and salt. Add in protein powder and coconut flour and mix together. Form into a dough ball with your hands (if the dough sticks to your hands add a 1 tsp of coconut flour or protein powder at a time until it stops).

Tear off small pieces of peanut butter, roll into desired egg size (I make regular-sized ones and mini ones!) and place on a wax-covered baking sheet. Place eggs into the freezer.

Meanwhile, melt chocolate chips and coconut oil together. Once eggs have been in the freezer for 15 minutes, take out and dip in chocolate, coating in a thin layer completely. Once all eggs have been coated, place back in the freezer for 5 minutes. Afterwards, dig in!

To store, keep in the refrigerator.   

4 responses to this post.

  1. Peanut butter and chocolate. Okay, I’m in! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Deanna!

    Reply

  2. Mmmmm….I don’t think I can wait until next Easter to make these!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

