Sweet Pepper Nachos (Grain-Free)

Every Tuesday evening, I visit my mom. If school and work isn’t bogging me down, I try to plan and prepare a nice meal. Just a small way to say thank you for feeding me for the last 2 decades (and, of course, I love having free reign of a kitchen 🙂 ) 

And the last Tuesday before school starts up calls for an extra special meal. This meant appetizers, side dishes, and a dessert. 

And nachos. 

But not with chips (I restrict my grain intake). Rather, I used mini peppers! 

Recently, raw peppers have graduated to the Top 10 List of my favorite foods. I down those babies like it’s my job. 

Anyway, I actually prefer the peppers to the chips. Plus, the bright yellows, oranges, and reds make it much more appealing!    

Sweet Pepper Nachos (Grain-Free) Sweet Pepper Nachos 

Ingredients: 

1 lb ground meat 

1 purple onion, chopped 

2 medium tomatoes, diced 

2 tsp cumin 

2 tsp garlic powder 

2 tsp paprika 

1 tsp chili powder 

1 tsp dried oregano 

salt and pepper

Mini sweet peppers 

Cheddar cheese (or any other cheese you desire) 

Directions: 

Cook meat and onion over medium heat, stirring often, for 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes and spices and cook for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, cut sweet peppers in half and stretch out. Place in a single layer on a baking pan (make sure peppers are pressed close together!). When the meat is finished, spread on top of peppers. Top with desired amount of cheese and place in a 400 degree oven for 12 minutes.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Have you ever tried drying the peppers a little to make it more…. For lack of a better term…. Chippy?

    Reply

  2. What a great idea – that looks so good and the peppers are a great way to indulge!

    Reply

  3. Wow! These nachos look fab & what an interesting twist to a classic dish. I’m definitely going to have to try using peppers next time. If you’re looking for another healthy alternative to traditional nachos, you might like my vegan nachos (I’d love your thoughts!) http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/06/26/vegan-nachos/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

