Zucchini Mash

This week has been full of new and challenging events for me. 

On Monday, I decided to go on a bike ride to celebrate the finish of my summer classes. Two minutes into the ride, my front tire hit a pipe hole that was left uncapped. As a result, I did a flip over the handlebars and got some nice road rash and bruises all up my body. My wrist also hurt a bit. But because I’m stubborn, I refused to go to the doctors.

Fast forward to later that night and I had a painful and swollen hand that I could barely move 😦

I gave in and went to the hospital the next night… and left with a bulky cast that I now have to sport for the next 6-10 weeks!

And just in time for vacation too.

Guess I can now say I’ve broken a bone! 

So, this week I’ve realized just how much I rely on 2 functioning hands. Who knew opening a lid, buttoning pants, washing a dish, and packing a bag could be so difficult? 

Making food has also become challenging for me. HOWEVER, with the help of my food processor, I was able to make this zucchini mash 🙂 

I’m thinking simple recipes are going to become a theme for my blog for the next few weeks…

Zucchini Mash Zucchini Mash 

Ingredients: 

Zucchini, coined  

1/4 cup plain yogurt

salt and pepper 

1/2 tbsp garlic powder 

1/2 tbsp onion powder

1/2 tbsp chili powder 

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded 

Directions: 

Place zucchini in a food processor and pulse until in small pieces (stop before it becomes mush!). Let sit for 5 minutes and then drain out excess water. Transfer 2 cups of zucchini to a pot and add yogurt and spices. Cook on low for 10 minutes, stirring every so often. Mix in mozzarella cheese before serving. 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my goodness! Sorry about your accident. Hope your hand heals quickly! The zucchini dish looks good!

    Reply

  2. So simple but tasty – never thought you could make mash from zucchini!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

