Chicken Pineapple Coconut Stir-Fry (Paleo)

I have a love-hate relationship with pineapple. On the one hand, it’s pineapple: yummy, refreshing, and bursting with juice. Plus, it makes images of tropical islands pop into my head.

On the other hand, I have a bad physical reaction to the enzymes found in fresh pineapple. My mouth begins to burn and my lips puff up 😦 Grrrrr. And the first time I realized I had this reaction?: the night before my first day of school. Lovely, right? 

But does this deter me from my love of fresh pineapple? Certainly not! I bravely (and yes, I’ll give you stupidly) eat on. 

I just stop before my lips blow up 😉 

Fortunately, I’ve come to discover that when cooked, pineapple loses it’s stinging quality to me. Therefore, I decide to throw some in to this recipe:  

Chicken Pineapple Coconut Stir-Fry

Chicken Pineapple Coconut Stir-Fry (Paleo) 

Ingredients:

1/2 head of uncooked cauliflower 

1 lb organic chicken breasts 

1 tbsp unrefined coconut oil

1 onion, chopped  

2 garlic cloves, minced 

1 tsp dried ginger 

1/2 tsp curry powder 

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 cups pineapple chunks 

3 tbsp canned coconut milk (full-fat) 

1 tbsp pineapple juice

1 tbsp cilantro 

Salt and pepper, to taste 

Directions: 

Cut cauliflower into florets, place in a food processor, and pulse until cauliflower resembles rice (do not over-blend, or else it will turn to mush!). Set aside. 

Chop chicken into bite-size pieces. Heat coconut oil over low heat and cook chicken. 

Add in onion, garlic, ginger, and curry powder and sauté for 5 minutes. 

Add in red bell pepper and cook for 5 more minutes. 

Add in pineapple chunks, coconut milk, pineapple juice, and cilantro. 

Stir in cauliflower rice, add salt and pepper, to taste, and cook for 10 more minutes. 

 

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. This is the most creative (and delicious sounding) recipe I’ve seen in awhile!

    Reply

  2. You always do wonders with cauliflower Deanna!

    Reply

  3. Yum! So many of my favorite flavors!

    Reply

  4. This looks very yummy. 🙂 We have been following one another here for a while…Just wanted to let you know that I am moving URL
    http://www.wellnessange.me
    Would love for you to continue to support me there – where you will also find my Facebook & Twitter accounts to follow. Hope to see you on the other side ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

