Paleo “Cream of Wheat”

Lately, I’ve been trying my hand at more paleo recipes. I am not paleo, but since researching more into the lifestyle, I’ve been limiting the amount of grains I eat more and more. And the thing is, it wasn’t that hard. Except at breakfast, where I was eating my very-much-loved, fluffy, overnight oatmeal.

Now, I’m very much a texture person and still wanted something grainy

Cue in the amazing substitute power of cauliflower…

And this is what you get!

Since it’s not as chunky though, I consider it more of a “cream of wheat.”

Oh well, close enough.

I should mention that this recipe is a BASE. Therefore I strongly encourage that you include some add-ins!

Paleo “Cream of Wheat”

Paleo “Cream of Wheat”

Ingredients: 

1 and 1/2 cups raw cauliflower rice

2/3 cup almond milk (coconut milk would probably taste good too!)

1 tbsp almond butter

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp salt

sweetener, to taste (I use about 1 tbsp of pure maple syrup)

____

Add-ins (optional): shredded coconut, coconut butter, more nut butter, bananas, berries, nuts, spices, etc. Get creative!

*To make cauliflower rice, pulse cauliflower florets in a food processor until it resembles rice 

Directions: 

Combine cauliflower rice, milk, almond butter, cinnamon, vanilla, and salt in a small pot. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and let cook for 5 minutes, stirring often. Add in sweetener and add-ins (recommended!). To intensify flavor, let sit before eating.

5 responses to this post.

  1. this is awesome! I have really been wanting to incorporate more vegetables in my breakfast! Perfect!

    Reply

  2. I’ve been doing the exact same thing in regard to the paleo thing! I used to eat oatmeal every single day – but I’ve been trying to eat less grains and fewer carbs in general. This idea is great!

    Reply

    • Thanks! I’ve been trying so hard to come up with breakfast ideas to replace my oatmeal- it’s probably to hardest habit I’ve had to break!

      Reply

  3. Oh that’s me to a T! I’ve started using TVP as an oatmeal replacement and it’s literally changed my life hahaha you should try it if you haven’t already! I have a few recipes on my blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

