Coconut Flour Carrot Bars (Grain Free)

Looking at what I’ve compiled to post for the next month, I’ve realized that I have a lot of recipes dealing with butternut squash. To break up this pattern, I’ve got some carrot bars to share (Back to butternut squash next week!)

Now, I’m very fond of these bars as I practically lived off them last semester. Plus, they’re bright orange (more so than what the pictures show) and you all know I’m a sucker for pretty colors 🙂 I usually cut these into bite-sized pieces and pop them into my mouth as I run out the door.

Coconut Flour Carrot Bars (Grain Free)

Coconut Flour Carrot Bars (Grain Free) 

Ingredients: 

2 cups carrots, shredded*

1 cup plain whole milk organic yogurt

2/3 cup honey

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 tbsp grounded flaxseed

1 cup coconut flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup raisins (or dark chocolate chips)

1/4 cup coconut flakes

1/4 cup chopped almonds

*To shred, place carrots in a food processor and pulse until they are in small pieces

Directions: 

Preheat the oven to 350 and spray a greased 9×13 baking pan. In a large bowl, combine the shredded carrots, yogurt, honey, vanilla extract, and flaxseed. Let sit for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, combine the coconut flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Add in the raisins/chocolate chips, coconut flakes, and almonds. Add the coconut flour mixture to the wet mixture. Stir altogether and pour into the baking pan. To spread the batter evenly, press down with a spatula or with your hands. Bake for 20 minutes. Let sit for 20 minutes before cutting with a plastic knife. To intensify flavor and harden, store in the fridge.

Coconut Flour Carrot Bars (Grain Free)

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tanya on December 29, 2013 at 5:30 am

    Reblogged this on Start to be Healthy Now and commented:
    What wonderful sounding bars. I must make these…

    Reply

  2. My husband and I are starting to eat healthier, I’m thinking this may be a good one to start with.

    Reply

  3. […]  I found these wonderful bars over at Health Without Sacrifice, made with yoghurt, carrots, choc chips, you could even use peppermint carob bits instead and almonds along with other yummy ingredients. Thank you Deanna. healthwithoutsacrifice.wordpress.com […]

    Reply

  4. Hi Deanna! Your recipe sounds really well composed and balanced. I really enjoy baking with coconut flour and I am always trying to throw a veggie in with a sweet treat! I like the idea of using yogurt especially instead of oil. Coconut flour is really absorbent but I bet the yogurt really helps to keep it moist. I looked around your blog and you have some interesting recipes. I am mainly paleo, so I will have to check out some more of those in the near future.

    Reply

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I like using coconut flour as well for baking/cooking- as much as I love almond flour, I find it too expensive (plus, my nut intake is already pretty high). And yes, yogurt is definitely the key for this recipe! Hope you enjoy my recipes- I look forward to reading your posts as well! 🙂

      Reply

  5. […] scrolling along, I came across my Carrot Bar recipe, which immediately made me start thinking of possible variations. The result? Banana […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

