Caprese Hummus

Caprese salads always remind me of the beach.

A few years back, my mom and I went on a day trip to Ocean City. We stayed later than we thought and decided to eat dinner on the boardwalk before returning home. Problem was, we didn’t have a lot money on us and all the cheap food was pizza and fries. As greasy boardwalk food does not agree with my stomach (remember, we did have to drive home) I thought I was SOL.

Luckily, a little cafe had just opened that year. Not only did they have air conditioning, but they also had caprese salad topped with shrimp! I had never heard of caprese salad (yes, apparently I live under a rock) and thought it was the best light-dinner-idea ever. Since then, my mom and I visit our little cafe every year for our tomatoey goodness 🙂

Since caprese salads use more of an assembling process than an actually recipe, I decided to try making it in a dip form.

Note: I realize true hummus is made with chickpeas. However, I cannot stand the taste of chickpeas, no matter how much I try to disguise the taste. Seriously, they (along with greasy foods) make me feel nauseous for some reason. So instead, I always sub in cannellini beans. Feel free to use chickpeas though if you have no aversion to them 🙂

Caprese Hummus

Caprese Hummus

Ingredients:

1 15oz can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1/2 cup tomatoes, diced and divided

1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped (or more, to taste)

1/2 cup mozzarella, shredded

2 tbsp olive oil + more for drizzling

salt and pepper

Directions:

Blend cannellini beans, 1/4 cup of the tomatoes, basil, mozzarella, salt, and pepper in a food processor until smooth. Add in the rest of the tomatoes by pulsing a few times. If desired, drizzle more olive oil on top of dip before serving.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Will have to try! Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply

  2. I like the twist… will try 🙂

    Reply

  3. I just LOVE tomatoes, basil, and mozz together!

    Reply

  4. ooh… this sounds so good! I love caprese salad and new hummus flavors!

    Reply

  5. This looks delicious! I often make dips from white beans (they have the right texture) but this is a great recipe for their use. Will definitely try! Thanks

    Reply

  6. Reblogged this on food thoughts to share and commented:
    Came across this on a fellow bloggers site and thought it looked yummy – I have made something similar before but this looks and sounds like it would be delicious. Will be trying it out this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

