Baked Asparagus Fries

One more week and then I’m done my semester! Yay! Unfortunately, this also means hardcore studying time.

Eh.

I’m so bad when it comes to procrastination. Instead of going out or stalking people on social media sites, I cook or bake. And then eat. A lot. And this right here is just one of the results from my procrastination. In my defense though, I practiced my sign language between baking times 🙂

Baked Asparagus Fries

Baked Asparagus Fries 

Ingredients:

2 bunches of fresh, organic asparagus

1 large egg

hot sauce

3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs

1/4 cup mozzarella cheese

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp oregano

1 tsp garlic powder

salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and spray a baking sheet with cooking oil. Wash asparagus and break off the tough ends. Beat egg and a couple drops of hot sauce together in a bowl. In a shallow dish, mix together panko breadcrumbs, mozzarella cheese, pepper flakes, oregano, garlic powder, and salt and pepper. Using your hands, take one asparagus spear and place it in the egg mixture. Shake off the excess yolk and place in panko bowl. Completely cover with crumbs and place on the baking sheet. Repeat with every asparagus spear. Bake in oven for 15 minutes. Flip after 10 minutes.

Note: If you want a nice, thick coat on your “fries,” coat them in flour after you dunk them in the yolk and before you dip them in the panko mixture. I did not do this because I didn’t have the time (I did eventually have to write a paper, after all) and just wanted a light, crunchy coat.

 

16 responses to this post.

  1. These look really good!
    I also tend to bake and cook more when I get really busy with school. In my defense, I do it more to relieve stress than to procrastinate—at least, that is what I tell myself. Good luck!

    Reply

    • Thanks 🙂 I know, right? Cooking is definitely an instant stress reliever. I have a bad habit of making a bunch of sweets right before any major deadlines- whenever my family sees them, they know to stay well out of my way!

      Reply

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog! Those “fries” look amazing! I will have to try! 🙂

    Reply

  3. You know how much I love your blog, right? Well I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award!

    http://urbanpaleochef.com/2013/05/06/liebster-award/

    Reply

  4. I bet kids would love this! Great way to get them to eat their veggies!

    Reply

  5. […] Baked Asparagus Fries. […]

    Reply

  6. Yum!

    I’ve been procrastinating my studying, too. Cooking and blogging is more fun 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

