Chocolate-Peanut Butter Lava Cake

This year, I had the best valentine. This dude loves to sample my work, is good at cuddling, and happens to be very handsome. He also happens to be four-legged and small enough to carry around. Yup, my dog, Bungie. Sad? Maybe. Do I care? Nope, not at all 🙂 So for this Valentines, I (with the help of Bungie) made a chocolatey treat for dessert. Yes, there’s a little sweetener in this, but for a once-in-a-while treat, it’s harmless. Just try to use organic ingredients, if possible! This is much better than the boxed lava cakes at the store and quicker to make than the time waiting at a restaurant!

Image

Image

With the help of Chef Bungie!

Chocolate- Peanut Butter Lava Cake 

Ingredients: 

cacao powder

1 tbsp unrefined coconut oil

1 tbsp organic peanut butter

1/4 cup organic dark chocolate chips

1 tbsp spelt flour (whole wheat works too)

1 tbsp maple syrup (or honey or sugar)

1/8 tsp salt

1 large egg

Optional: powdered sugar

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spray the bottom and sides of a ramekin with cooking spray oil. Completely coat with cocoa powder. Over a stove, melt the coconut oil. Mix in the peanut butter until melted. Add in the chocolate chips and stir until melted. Add in maple syrup and mix until the chocolate mixture is the same color throughout. Set aside. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and egg. Add and stir in the melted chocolate. Pour batter in the ramekin and bake for 12 minutes.

After taking out of the oven, slide a knife around the ramekin. The cooling time depends on the amount of “lava” you want (if you want a lot of lava, serve right away). Place an upside-down plate on top of the lava cake, flip, and gently wiggle off the ramekin. Dust with powdered sugar, if desired.

Note: I’m still playing around with this recipe. I want to eventually sub in coconut flour. If you try out any  alterations please let me know! 🙂

Image

Right out of the oven

Image

Bungie, becoming very involved in the baking process

Image

A volcano, ready to erupt

Image

All of a sudden, he’s looking pretty worried

Image

And there goes the lava. Ooops, forgot. Dogs can’t have chocolate (another reason why dogs make great valentines)

Image

Maybe next year, boy 🙂

23 responses to this post.

  1. Oh so cute! Is he a basenji? Don’t let him eat chocolate.

    Reply

    • Yup 🙂 I’m surprised, most people don’t even know what a basenji is!
      Believe me, I had to be careful with this cake- he’ll try to eat anything he sees!

      Reply

      • My husband use to have one. They’re such a character, will give a show just to get food…lol…I mean his performance was like “I haven’t eat all day. Oh may be all week, would you just please, give me a crumb of that to laden this poor doggie stomach, pretty please”…that kind of show!

      • Exactly! And their wrinkled foreheads make them so convincing! My dog goes from person to person in my house, pretending he hasn’t been fed. Then everybody feeds him separately so he gets fed double or three times the amount he’s supposed to!

  2. Cute dog (and post). Have you tried using whole wheat pastry flour? It gives a much fluffier crumb than whole wheat. I’ll have to give this a go!

    Reply

  3. What a fun post! Can’t wait to try this out with almond flour and honey!

    Reply

  4. I completely appreciate that this recipe is made with spelt – definitely going to try it out, it looks delicious!! yum!

    Reply

  5. Yum! Looks gooey and amazing!

    Reply

  6. Posted by chisha1982 on February 23, 2013 at 11:03 am

    My dog is my favorite valentine too! And this cake looks absolutely delicious.

    Reply

  7. This looks delicious! And Chef Bungie is so cute!!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Amy @ Healthy and Fit for Real on February 25, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    This looks amazing! Peanut butter and chocolate- win!

    Reply

  9. Um, YUM! And I already have everything I’d need in my pantry. Uh-oh!

    Reply

  10. Such a gorgeous doggy!

    Reply

  11. Your sous chef is adorable – and that cake looks amazingly decadent – Wish it were here in front of me right now 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

