Chocolate Avocado Mousse

Remember in the last post, when I said I had no New Years Resolutions?

I completely take it back.

My resolution? Learn to take better pictures! ‘Cause this picture does not do this treat justice. Although this may appear as muck, rest assure that it’s a piece of muck from heaven. I don’t know why I haven’t posted this until now, because I’ve had this recipe from waaayyy before I even started this blog.

Every week, my dad buys a bundle of avocados. Due to the holidays, however, we have been lagging behind with eating them. As a result, my kitchen has accumulated 10 avocados- all ready to be devoured. Translation: experiment time for me! I already made 2 batches of guacamole for the post-holiday party at the program I volunteer at. Plus, I whipped up this Chocolate Avocado Mousse. Unlike the traditional chocolate mousse, there’s no butter, sugar, or cream. Instead, it’s filled with the healthy fat of an avocado. A guilt-looking, but guilt-less treat!

Now, in the next post, don’t be surprised if you see more avocados 🙂

Chocolate Avocado Mousse

Chocolate Avocado Mousse 

Ingredients:

2 Avocados

1/4 cup raw cacao powder

1/4 cup pure organic maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

In a bowl, mash the avocados together (using a food processor will get all the lumps out, but if you don’t mind them, you can use a fork or potato masher). Add in the rest of the ingredients and mix until smooth. Place in the fridge for about 3 hours before digging in 🙂

Additional Note: In my opinion, the mousse tastes even better the longer it chills. So, if you can (this is hard for me), save some for the next day!

20 responses to this post.

  1. I will definitely have to try making this! I looove avocado!

    Reply

  2. Yes! Avocado as a thickener instead of Soy… Thank you!! Now, if only we could convince the rest of the world…

    Reply

  3. I have never had avocado in my dessert. That’s an interesting recipe! Sounds delicious!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jess on January 5, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    Wow! I have to try this!

    Reply

  5. I’m not a huge fruits&veggies person, so recipes like this are right up my alley! LOVE the idea of using something I wouldn’t normally it in something I always eat 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  6. It looks good to me but I know what you mean about the photos… Sometimes the best food just doesn’t look good in a photo! it took me 5 tries to get a decent picture of my ginger / nut bar. Best wishes to you

    Reply

    • Thank you! I guess it really isn’t that bad, but it took me forever to get an okay picture. It’s a good thing nobody was home at the time, or else they would have thought I was crazy repeatedly taking pictures of a dessert 🙂

      Reply

  7. This is so yummy! I’ve made this dessert a number of times, but I’ve not once had the patience to let it sit in the fridge before devouring it.

    Reply

  8. […] and you just feel like using Avocado instead. Like this recent post by Health Without Compromise: Chocolate Avocado Mousse. Why not use Avocado as the thickener in the mousse instead of milk cream or coconut cream, or even […]

    Reply

  9. […] mousse before. Just think of it as another “secret ingredient” recipe. In a contest with my Chocolate Avocado Mousse, I honestly don’t know who’d win. It tastes that darn good. As an additional bonus, this […]

    Reply

  10. […] COOL (will seem undone once they first come out of the oven) FOR 10 MINUTES. Spread icing (I used avocado mousse for mine) and stack with how many layers you want. Makes 2 3-layered cakes or 3 2-layered cakes […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

