Goat Cheese Egg Boat

Happy New Years everyone! To start off 2013, I wanted to post a recipe featuring one of my favorite foods: goat cheese! To make it even extra special, I’ve made it in an bread boat! This gets me wondering what else I can fill a bread bowl with…

When I was little, I always hated when teachers had me write out my New Years Resolutions (4 sentences are traumatic for a 3rd grader!). Even now, I still have trouble thinking of how I want to change for the coming year. I think it’s because I don’t wait till any particular day to start my goals. In fact, I’ve already been working on all the major stuff that I want to accomplish. So I guess I just continue with what I’ve been doing? It’s a good thing nobody asks me to write papers on this stuff anymore!

So what do I want to continue to do? There’s the obvious, like eating healthy and exercising. With regards to my blog, I want to keep posting regularly (hard sometimes because of school) and trying out new foods and recipes 🙂

Goat Cheese Egg Boat

Goat Cheese Egg Boat 

Ingredients: 

1 fresh loaf whole wheat bread*

5 eggs

1/4 cup whole milk

1 slice organic, grass-fed nitrate-free bacon, cooked (you can use sausage, ham, or even more vegetables instead)

1/4 cup green bell pepper, chopped

1/4 cup onion, chopped

1/4 cup shredded goat cheese + 1-2 tbsp for topping

couple dashes of paprika

salt and pepper, to taste

*If your bread has hardened, heat in a 400 degree oven for about 5 minutes

Directions:

Cut a shallow, wide “V” shape at the top of your loaf. Spoon out soft bread and set aside for later. Place bread boat on a baking sheet lined with foil. In a bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk. Add and mix in the bacon, bell pepper, onion, 1/4 cup goat cheese, 1/4 cup soft bread, paprika, salt, and pepper. Pour egg mixture into your boat and bake for 30 minutes. Afterwards, take the boat out and sprinkle with the remaining goat cheese. Place back in the oven until cheese melts. Top with pepper and more paprika. Let sit for 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

Leave a Reply

