Mashed Butternut Squash with Spinach and Goat Cheese

I hope everybody enjoyed their holidays! I sure did. Next up is New Years! Although I am never tired of sweets, I figured it would be good to veer away from those for awhile. Instead, let’s go for something silky, which is the best way I can describe this dish. So silky, in fact, that it seems to slide down the throat without any effort. I’m definitely making this the next time I have a sore throat (which might be next week with all the yelling I do as the ball drops 🙂 )

Mashed Butternut Squash with Spinach and Goat Cheese

Mashed Butternut Squash with Spinach and Goat Cheese 

Ingredients:

1 medium butternut squash

1 tbsp olive oil

5 oz fresh spinach leaves

2 oz goat cheese

salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and cover a shallow baking sheet with foil. (Note: use a pan with sides- the squash releases liquid while roasting and it’s so not fun cleaning up the mess). Cut the butternut squash once horizontally and once vertically, so it’s cut into quarters. Remove its seeds and “guts”. Place the quarters face-down and peel-side up on the baking sheet. Roast in the oven for 1 hour. Heat oil in a pan and sauté spinach until it is withered. Set aside. After the squash is done, hollow out the insides (don’t burn your hands!) and place in a food processor. Puree until smooth. (Likewise, you can simply place the insides in a bowl and mash until smooth. Add in spinach and then mix in goat cheese until melted. Add salt and pepper to taste.

DSC04227Me and my siblings (I’m the one in the middle!)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by foodieboomboom on December 27, 2012 at 7:34 am

    This looks lovely, I may try it tonight as I have post christmas meat exhaustion 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by kanev on December 27, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Yum! I’m definitely making this. And your tree is beautiful!

    Reply

  3. I’ll try this – looks good. I’m a goat cheese junkie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

