Cauliflower Soup

Come the cold weather, my family and I love soup. Why? Simple ingredients? Check. Easy to make? Check. Filling? Check. Healthy dose of veggies? Check. Yummy? Double check!! You get the point. Out of all the soups I’ve made in the past, Cauliflower Soup is my family’s favorite (coincidentally, it’s also the first soup I ever made).

Now, the thickness in this soup all depends on your preference. If you want a thin, broth soup, use 1 large head of cauliflower. I usually use 1 and 1/2  heads for a medium-thick consistency. My dad, however, likes ultra thick soup (almost a mashed cauliflower thickness). For this, use 2 large heads. No matter what way, it tastes amazing (my apologies if this comes off as bragging!) Enjoy!

Cauliflower Soup

Cauliflower Soup

Ingredients:

1-2 large heads of fresh cauliflower, chopped into florets

1 leek (or large onion), chopped

4 cups water

2 cups chicken broth

salt and pepper to taste

garnish: chives

Directions:

Add all ingredients to a large pot. Cover with a lid and bring to a boil. Turn down to a simmer and cook until cauliflower is tender, about 20 minutes. Puree with an immersion blender until smooth. Stir in salt and pepper and top individual bowls with chives.

For a very similar soup, try my broccoli soup!

14 responses to this post.

  1. I love cauliflower- this looks delicious! I can’t wait to try making it.

    Reply

  2. Have Caulifower in my fridge and was planning to make a soup. I’ll try this recipe! thanks!

    Reply

  3. I love pureeing cauliflower into a mash or a soup. Your recipe looks yummy! Thanks for stopping by foodforfun for the black bean brownies:-)

    Reply

  4. […] I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. So I figured I’d give something new a try. This Cauliflower Soup recipe from Health Without Sacrifice gets it’s creaminess from cauliflower, not cream. In […]

    Reply

  5. Posted by biggsis on January 19, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    We are on a cauliflower kick over here as well. Love the simplicity of this recipe! Thanks!

    Reply

  6. […] some though as cauliflower was, for some reason, one of those foods that we never ate. After some cauliflower soup, however, that attitude changed. Anyway, I wanted to use the basis of the cauliflower breadsticks […]

    Reply

  7. […] I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. So I figured I’d give something new a try. This Cauliflower Soup recipe from Health Without Sacrifice gets it’s creaminess from cauliflower, not cream. In […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

