Avocado Lime Pie

A few weeks ago, I was at Whole Foods with my dad when I picked up some lime juice. Automatically, my dad leapt to the conclusion that I was going to make key lime pie. I had never had key lime pie, nor was it on my mind to make. But then I thought, heck, why not. So, I went fishing around the internet to find out what’s exactly in the pie besides the lime. To my disappointment, every recipe included sweetened and condensed milk. Bummer. Luckily, however, we had avocados on hand. Avocados are the perfect bases for desserts. Plus, it has a nice green color that brings out the thought of lime. I am ashamed to say that I did not have time to make the crust and had to use store-bought (next time, I’ll be sure to make my own). Since I have never had key lime pie, I’m not sure if this tastes exactly like it should. Either way,my family and I loved it and it was enough to satisfy my dad’s craving, so it’s definitely a keeper.

 

Avocado Lime Pie

Ingredients: 

2 large avocados

4 tbsp lime juice

3-4  tbsp honey

2 tbsp unrefined coconut oil

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp salt

9 inch pie crust

Directions:

Combine all ingredients (except the crust) in a food processor and process until smooth. Pour into a pie crust and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I will definitely try this. I lost a recipe years ago that featured a sweetened avocado dessert with lime. I had entered it for a 4H project judging and it surprised the judge. She wasn’t expecting it to be sweet once she learned it contained avocadoes. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

