Waldorf Salad

Back forever ago (we’re talking Easter here), I went out for dinner and tried this “salad.” I put quotation marks because the fact that there was no leafy greens threw me off and made me think that it was just another side dish. But oh my goodness, it was good. Since I had no clue what it was at the time, I went home and searched for this apple-nut-raisin creation and eureka! I found what is known as the waldorf salad. And what do you know, the lettuce is optional. Since my mom hates raisins, I used a variation that includes grapes instead. For the longest time, this has been on my to-make list and I finally got around to make it tonight.

Waldorf Salad     

Ingredients: 

2 apples, cubed

1 cup grapes, sliced  (or raisins)

1/4 cup celery, chopped

1/2 cup walnuts

1/4 cup onion, chopped

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp plain yogurt

1 tbsp mayo

1 tsp parsley

Optional: lettuce

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together and spoon over lettuce (if desired) and dig in!

Leave a Reply

