Black Bean Quesadillas

I am not a saleswoman. That being said, you’ll have to excuse me for talking about my quesadilla maker from Target. This appliance has saved my life so many times when I needed to quickly throw something together for dinner. Not to mention, it makes even a simple cheese quesadilla look fancy. There’s also no way to mess up because all you have to do is plug it in and press down. And it’s easy to clean. Win! I got mine about 4 years ago from a friend for my birthday and it has yet to fail me. It’s only $20 and well worth it.

Ok. Sales pitch is over (but seriously, I recommend it).

I have tried so many recipes for quesadillas. Surprisingly, I never made one with a black bean base until tonight. It turned out so good, I think this will be my new go-to quesadilla recipe. I wish I could take pretty pictures, because this picture does not do it justice.

Black Bean Quesadillas

Ingredients:

2 whole Wheat Tortillas

1 cup canned black beans, drained and rinsed

garlic powder

chili powder

cilantro

1/4 onion, chopped

1/2 roasted red pepper, chopped

1/4 portobello mushroom, chopped

1/4 cup frozen corn

1/3 cup shredded cheese (I used provolone)

avocado

optional: marinara sauce

oil (if you do not have a quesadilla maker)

Directions: 

On 1 tortilla, spread out black beans and sprinkle with the desired amount of garlic powder, chili powder, and cilantro. Add on the onion, pepper, mushroom, corn, and cheese. On the other tortilla, spread on some avocado (use the remaining amount as a side) and place on top of the black bean mixture. Transfer to a quesadilla maker and cook till desired temperature and crispiness. If you do not have a quesadilla maker, heat some oil on a skillet and place tortilla on top. Assemble as previously stated and flip over once the desired crispness has been reached. For more flavor, dunk quesadillas into a bit of marinara. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

