Tuna Noodle Casserole

When I was younger, my mom made the best tuna noodle casserole. Somehow, however, we stopped making it and it was eventually forgotten. Recently, I came upon a tuna noodle casserole recipe and suddenly had the strong urge for some of my mom’s. When I told my mom, she said that she had lost the recipe! Devastated, I got to work on putting this together. It’s not exactly the same taste as my mom’s, but it’s just as yummy. I consider it a more “grown-up” version as I’ve added veggies and spices to the traditional casserole recipe.

Image

Tuna Noodle Casserole 

Ingredients:

6-8 oz box pasta, cooked to al dente

1 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1/4 cup carrot, chopped

1 stalk celery, chopped

2 tbsp flour

1 and 1/2 cup chicken broth

1 cup milk

8-10 oz canned sliced mushrooms, drained

1 tbsp chopped pimientos

2 tbsp mustard

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp thyme

1/4 tsp garlic powder

10 oz canned tuna, drained

1 cup shredded cheese (I used mozzarella)

2 tbsp breadcrumbs

Directions:

Cook pasta according to box instructions and set aside. In a large skillet, heat olive oil. Add in chopped onions, carrots, and celery and sauté for 5 minutes. Next, add in flour and stir for 2 minutes. Stir in chicken broth and milk and then bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and add sliced mushrooms, pimientos, mustard, parsley, thyme, and garlic powder. Continue to simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and mix in tuna, cheese, and pasta. Spoon into a greased baking dish and top with breadcrumbs. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Then, place under broiler for 2 minutes. Let sit for 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

